Select Page

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Dr. John and Mrs. Lois Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching and Student Mentorship Nominations Due

October 12, 2018

The awards committee of the Teaching Academy invites deans, department heads, and faculty members to nominate deserving faculty for the Dr. John and Mrs. Lois Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching and Student Mentorship.

Award Criteria:

The Dr. John and Mrs. Lois Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching and Student Mentorship recognizes faculty members at the University of Arkansas who have demonstrated consistent and committed excellence in teaching, instruction and mentoring, all qualities central to the mission of a student-centered institution.

Nominees must:

  • instruct an introductory or entry-level course that introduces students to their discipline or acquaints students with a discipline
  • demonstrate excellence in classroom teaching
  • demonstrate excellence in student advising and mentoring, including formal academic advising, informal advising, student group or club advising, special project or research instruction and advising, and professional mentorship.

The award carries an honorarium of $1,000 provided by the Imhoff Trust and a mantle clock with a brass plate, a very nice memento commemorating the occasion.

Nominations may be made by anyone on the faculty of the University and need not be Teaching Academy members.  However, each nomination letter must indicate that the nominee is also “endorsed” by a named member of the Teaching Academy.  A list of Teaching Academy members may be found at

To nominate a faculty colleague, send a brief nomination letter describing the nominee’s qualifications by Friday, October 12th to:

Lori Holyfield

MAIN 224

If your nominating letter is sent as an e-mail attachment, please include the words “Imhoff Award Nomination” in the subject line of the e-mail.  The nomination letters are very important, and are used by the awards committee as the sole criterion in selecting finalists for the award.

By Friday, October 26 the awards committee will select three finalists who will be invited to submit more complete packets of information about their teaching and mentoring activities.

For any additional information or clarification of the award and the selection procedure, please contact Lori Holyfield at or Janine Parry at






October 12, 2018